kwin crashes

Hello everyone !:slight_smile:

i am new to linux plateform and installed 11.2 under KDE an hour ago.

when the system booted for the first time , the resolution was not optimum. my monitor is samsung 2033 (1600x900) and gfx card (ATI HD 4850).

i downloaded the ATI 9.10 driver for linux and installed according to the instructions given in the pdf.
and when i rebooted the pc again , i see a message saying that kwin is unstable and is crashed !:’(

moreover , its not showing the title bar on the windows that i open :frowning:

so plz help me solve this problem and i request you to give the solution step by step as i m a noob !

Note :- i had installed 11.1 earlier for 10-15 days but i did not have gfx card that time ! Bought a new pc :wink:

Your problem would be the Radeon card.

New Catalyst drivers were released just a few days ago, give those a spin and report back?

hey ! ok , i will try the new drivers !

But ,for trying the new drivers i would have to uninstall the prev ones(9.10) ,how do i do that ?:expressionless:

plz keep in mind that my gui isnt working so all i m left with is cli !

There is a URL with guidance here:
ATI/The Hard Way - openSUSE

When installing the previous 9.10, assuming you installed “the hardway”, then in one of the steps you installed the driver package with " rpm -Uvh fgl*.rpm ".

So now you need to remove that package. You can do so by typing with root permissions:

rpm -e $(rpm -qa '*fglrx*')

The instruction is in the ATI/The Hard Way - openSUSE link, but I concede it is a pain to read all that and figure out just what applies and what does not apply.

******Rawr! Edited :slight_smile:

i installed the driver using this instructions :-

1. Launch the Terminal Application/Window and navigate to the ATI Proprietary Linux
    driver download.

2. Enter the command sh ./ati-driver-installer-9-10-x86.x86_64.run to launch the ATI
    Proprietary Linux driver installer.

after installing it i did ,