Kernel incompatibility?

I am trying to install OpenSUSE 12.3 32bit on an old desktop that I have sitting around. I am able to boot from the installation CD, but regardless of what options I pick in the first menu (E.g. Text-mode, Safe Settings, No ACPI) as soon as I try to proceed I get a kernel panic with a message like: *kernel panic - not syncing attempted to kill init exitcode=0x00000009 *or *kernel panic - not syncing: watchdog detected hard lockup on cpu 0. *This happens when I try do an install, rescue or media check.

I know that the media is good, the check sum matches and I have run a media check on a different pc. I have also tried two separate dvd drives.

System info:

• ASUS A7N8X
  • AMD Athlon XP+ 2400
  • 2GB ram

I am fairly new to the linux world and I have no clue where to start when I can even get to a terminal… Help? :wink:

What info do you need, and how can I get it? Thanks in advance!

What video? this is often a video problem.

Did you try the noKMS option. that should use default drivers and not try to match the driver to the card.

If you can not get the latest openSUSE to install and you feel the disk is good, you got to try something else, another linux distro or even a 64 bit version of openSUSE, if supported. Pay attention to the kernel version that works, should you find one. For reference, can you post your full hardware (if you have anymore to tell) specifications for disk space, to know what is not working.

Thank You,

On 2013-07-03 23:26, jcrenfro wrote:
>
> I am trying to install OpenSUSE 12.3 32bit on an old desktop that I have
> sitting around. I am able to boot from the installation CD, but
> regardless of what options I pick in the first menu (E.g. Text-mode,
> Safe Settings, No ACPI) as soon as I try to proceed I get a kernel panic
> with a message like: -kernel panic - not syncing attempted to kill init
> exitcode=0x00000009 -or-kernel panic - not syncing: watchdog detected