[KDE] Active window doesn't come in front

Hi all,

I’m new to suse distro and to this community so far suse has been a real companion to me. But recently I found an odd behavior that is when each and every time there’s a pop-up or an authentication prompt window (active window) shown it is not come in to the front of the screen it just stays behind. Sometimes it’s really annoying when 10-15 windows were opened because actions that required authentication will holds till I manually switch (alt+tab) to the active window and authenticate. I looked at the YaST → Window Behavior for an option to solve this issue but there really isn’t an option. So I would like to know if someone knows a proper solution for this issue.

Thanks
GT540.

Does this happen if you try a new user login? Just to test things.

Yes it is happening …

I’ve seen this, too. In both KDE 4.6.x and in current KDE 4.7.2.

Really? I’m glad that someone did notice it.

Yes, this is very annoying. I suspect that it is a bug in PolicyKit.

I have developed the habit of checking the task bar whenever I do something that might result in a policy kit authentication popup.

The bad news: it happens a lot when setting up WiFi connections with opensuse 12.1 (currently at rc2 testing).

Strange, couldn’t be a bug in KDE?

I’m not sure where the bug is (or I would report it). But I am only seeing the problem on what appear to be PolicyKit popup windows.

BUMP.

Even Alt-F2 is coming up behind other screens.

Quite annoying.

Especially when you hit it again … and again … and …

Suggestions? Links?

This is a very old thread please start a new with more detail on what you see.