installation on raid

i’m about to install 11.3 64 on an hp xw8400 workstation. i have installed two sata drives and set the bios level intel storage matrix to raid1.

i’m familiar with raid controllers on large systems like openvms and tru64. but i would like to view a tutorial or how-to as it applies to opensuse. for example, the differences between md and dmraid. recovery options and methods. i’ve never worked with this intel product before either.

can someone point me to any articles?

thanks.

ewhite20 wrote:

>
> i’m about to install 11.3 64 on an hp xw8400 workstation. i have
> installed two sata drives and set the bios level intel storage matrix
> to raid1.
>
> i’m familiar with raid controllers on large systems like openvms and
> tru64. but i would like to view a tutorial or how-to as it applies to
> opensuse. for example, the differences between md and dmraid.

mdraid is software raid, it runs as part of Linux - dmraid is support
for on-board RAID solutions, such as your Intel Storage Matrix.

Per Jessen, Zürich (17.6°C)
http://en.opensuse.org/User:pjessen

On board RAID is usually BIOS (FAKE) RAID and usually requires external drivers that may not be available to Linux. If you are not dual booting with Windows I recommend software RAID. But if dual booting you will need a real hardware RAID card FAKE RAID won’t cut it.

i didn’t realize the intel raid controller was without a brain. guess i should have sprung for sas drives as the lsi controller does.

are there any reliability issues to using the intel raid with software? obviously i don’t have a big investment in the sata drives, so not doing raid is not a deal killer. although i have used software raid in the past, i was not really interested in doing it on a linux workstation.