Install program

Hello, I’m fairly new to Linux, but have been using it for some time. I downloaded a program called AMSN (got the .tar file) I saved it to my desktop, but when I try to install it, it says it’s not found on my system. I go to the command line to unpack it, then make etc… but it says it’s not found. Can anyone give me a hand with this? I’ve tried yast but no luck there either. I even click on the “install” program icon and that doesn’t work either. Thanks in advance!

HooLeeO

amsn is in Packman
If you have that repo, which you should

Just do:

zypper in amsn

from a su terminal

or just click this
http://api.opensuse-community.org/searchservice//YMPs/openSUSE_112/c6f308fa4421bfef0aa784efb5770cfc9a138176

Thanks. I clicked on the link you gave, but I’m running Suse 11. I get this message: cannot install in this version of suse.

http://api.opensuse-community.org/searchservice//YMPs/openSUSE_111/839377438f1e09766f0fee6a21fcda5c71cb3929

I still get the message: The install link or file you opened does not contain instructions for this version of open SuSe

I don’t know why I’m having this trouble…My version is 11.0 from the install DVD. How do I check if it’s been updated to say…11.2? Thanks.

You said 11.1
Now you say 11.0

What the heck
http://api.opensuse-community.org/searchservice//YMPs/openSUSE_110/5545fb3508e7028161a88a79326f701d82b2dd50

i wonder if maybe you are running SUSE Linux Enterprise Linux version
11 (also known as SLED 11), or maybe you are running openSUSE 11.0,
11.1, or 11.2

that is four possible systems…to learn which one you have, open a
terminal and type:

cat /etc/SuSE-release

if you are running SLED you should ask in forums.novell.com as it is a
purchased system and has support there…

if you are running openSUSE come back and tell us exactly what OS you
use (from the code above), confirm you have packman enabled in your
YaST and then tell us exactly the error you get after trying to
install amsn with zypper or YaST…