I think I need YOUR! help !!-Questions over question!

Hello,

I’m new and have some questions. 4 or 5 month ago I’ve installed opensuse 11.0 .
I got this version from “ComputerBild” a german computer magazine. I’ve read the article about the system and everything seems to be very easy, but then after installing the system everything was very hard for me. I do not want Windows no longer and want opensuse not only because it is for free. Pleas help me what I have to do for running all my components and programs on opensuse.
I need something like “office” and “encarta”, “icQ”,“pokerstars”,“itunes for my ipod” and some other programs…

My system is an AMD 6400+
Motherboard is Gigabyte MA790x-D24
Graficcard: ATI 4870
got keyboard and mouse from razor.

I think nothing else is important. Where can I find all this drivers? And how to install them? I’m a newbie in this section, so what I have to do?

Many thanks for your efforts!
JµleZ

ps: sorry for my english- come from Germany:shame:

Check out the Linux Alternative Project web page for lists of matching software: The Linux Alternative Project - linuxalt.com

Hi JµleZ & Welcome!

office = openoffice
encarta = jee… is that still used now we have the big www & Google? :wink:
icQ = have a look at Pidgin (included with openSUSE)
itunes = I don’t have an iPod, but Rythmbox seems to be a program to manage your iPod collection with - you can install this using YaST > Software Management

Driver are included in the kernel and not something you just install like in Windows. There are one click installs for video cards (and other)

Have a look here for your ATI : ATI - openSUSE
Also good for codecs : Restricted Formats - openSUSE-Community

As a newbie I would recommend you to have a read though this: Concepts - openSUSE
It should give you a first guidance and answer some basic questions.

Most important… sometimes things won’t work at once! Be patient, post your questions & all will be ok! :slight_smile:

Have a lot of fun!!