HTPC + Backup/NAS + MS Windows Access

I’m starting on a home project where I’d like to combine a home theater PC and backup/NAS. I plan on using a standard openSUSE 12.2 distro, maybe SLES 11.2. I’m going to need MS Windows machines to read/write to the data partition. The data partition will be two 2TB drives mirrored, totaling 2TB of drive space. What format should the 2TB data partition be? I’d really like to avoid a format that requires defragmenting, i.e. NTFS. What’s a good backup solution? I’m I going to need both SMB and Kerbros? The HTPC part is for home streaming of digitized media, web browsing, etc., no DVR/TV functions are planned.

Thanks.

So while I don’t want to rain on your parade or stop you from using openSUSE for any purpose you can conceive, let me tell you of my experience on the subject of using a HTPC. I have been maintaining one for several years until just a few months ago. The basic problem was the need to update your installation for security reasons. For Windows, the system would not stop working, but anti-virus updates can come at any time and really convincing Windows to not do it in the middle of a movie seemed to be problematic. So, I had a dual boot PC that also loaded openSUSE. The problem with openSUSE is that it too wants to do updates and those updates can kill your delicately setup audio if you are wanting 5.1 or 7.1 audio to a receiver. While I use openSUSE every single day, I don’t just turn it on and expect to pop in a movie and expect the audio and video to work correctly every time. openSUSE has been doing a major update every eight months or so and the audio system changed from alsa/xine to Pulse/gstreamer and the change has been dramatic. Only VLC has remained working for me with 7.1 audio and an optical connection. You do not indicate from where you live, but in any place in the US, you can buy a decent DVD player for under $100 and perhaps under $50 US. I see blu-ray players even for under $100, though I am not sure