How to mount NAS device

Hi,

I’m trying to mount my NAS device via NFS with suse 11.1, but up to now it failed.

The NAS does support NFS, but it requires a UID and a user name and up to now I could not figure out the correct nfs mount options for that.

If I just make mount 192.168.0.2:/nas1 /mnt a get the error message “mount.nfs: access denied by server while mounting 192.168.0.2:/nas1”. So can somebody please tell me the correct options for user name and user id which the mount should use. And, preferable the correct entry for the etc/fstab file to make this mount being executed automatically during startup.

I studied the mount(8) and nfs manpages several times, but I do still have no idea how to make it.

Thanks,

Volker

The brand and model of your NAS, it’s not a big secret is it?

If it as it seems, you have console access to the NAS, why not look at its log files to see why it doesn’t like the mount request?

On NFS, the uid and gid of the connecting user should match with the IDs on the server.

It’s not a secret, it’s a simple Claxan NAS200 running with original firmware based on some Linux OS. But I do not have console access, this would be available only with some other firmware.
There is not so much documentation about the NAS, but it requires the Remote UID, the IP-address and netmask and the mapping user name. So normally we should not need a console access, but need to know how to send the UID and user name to the NAS via mount command or /etc/fstab entry.

Volker

Actually you are root when doing the mount, but I do not want to mount the NAS with UID 0, maybe it does not work either.

In my office we do have a NFS client for Windows in order to mount our Solaris server with appropriate user and group IDs, so this should work with with Linux too, but how?

Volker

Does the NAS allow annonymous connections with Windows PCs? If so, you can do it annonymously with Linux as well. Here are some How-toos.