How are games started in OpenSuse?

I’m still pretty new to OpenSuse and Linux and want to install some games which have Linux versions. I have installed two first person shooters, Unreal Tournament 2004 and Nexuiz. UT2004 seems to run but Nexuiz has a problem with starting up, and gives me the following error message.

mircea@linux-wdzw:~> /opt/Nexuiz//nexuiz-linux-glx.sh
/opt/Nexuiz//nexuiz-linux-glx.sh: line 121: /opt/Nexuiz/nexuiz-linux-x86_64-glx: Permission denied
/opt/Nexuiz//nexuiz-linux-glx.sh: line 121: exec: /opt/Nexuiz/nexuiz-linux-x86_64-glx: cannot execute: Success

Is there a problem with the way it are executed? I heard it is but don’t know how to start it up correctly from the command line. What must one do and how must such games be configured and started like?

Right click to this file and go to properties. At the Permissions tab check the Is executable box.
Good luck.

That glx.sh file is already marked as being allowed to run as an executable, but that issue still exists. What else do I need to do?

Try typing

sh name_of_file.sh

replacing name_of_file with the one you are trying to install

Andy

No good, still getting the same issue.

mircea@linux-wdzw:/opt/Nexuiz> sh nexuiz-linux-glx.sh
nexuiz-linux-glx.sh: line 121: /opt/Nexuiz/nexuiz-linux-x86_64-glx: Permission denied
nexuiz-linux-glx.sh: line 121: exec: /opt/Nexuiz/nexuiz-linux-x86_64-glx: cannot execute: Success
mircea@linux-wdzw:/opt/Nexuiz>

Try to chown it:

su
chown <userName> nexuiz-linux-glx.sh

Good luck.

Looks like permission problem, go to the directory and type in an opened terminal (as root of course)
chmod 755 (and the file You want to run)

“chmod 755 myfile” does not do return anything and just passes me to the next line. If I try to run the file normally again I get the same error.

Have You tried running it as ROOT?

And what is with chown?