HELP, Suspend, Dell E6410, nVidia NVS3100M...

Hi, I am a a Linux newbie. Every second day I work a few hour on a train (on battery). Now, suspend does not work so I have to reboot at least 3 times during those days. ANNOYING.

I realize that the suspend business is a bit delicate, but I really would like to solve this issue as it would be very useful to HAVE SUSPEND WORKING AS IT SHOULD WORK

So if there is anyone out there that could point me to a guide on how to solve this issue. Or give me some tips where to start.

Help is much appreciated
Jonas

Hi, I am a a Linux newbie. Every second day I work a few hour on a train (on battery). Now, suspend does not work so I have to reboot at least 3 times during those days. ANNOYING.

I realize that the suspend business is a bit delicate, but I really would like to solve this issue as it would be very useful to HAVE SUSPEND WORKING AS IT SHOULD WORK

So if there is anyone out there that could point me to a guide on how to solve this issue. Or give me some tips where to start.

Help is much appreciated
Jonas
tjoflong, you need to tell us your versions of software to be helpful to you:

1. openSUSE version and 32/64 bit
  2. KDE or Gnome Desktop Version
  3. Video Driver Version and if Default or updated after the install (like loading the nVidia binary driver).
  4. Disk Partition Setup (As root run the terminal command fdisk -l)

OK, suspend does work with openSUSE, but it is dependent on your hardware setup and even making sure of your disk setup like the SWAP file location and size. For instance, I have not always been able to get desktops to suspend, but my work Dell Laptop with Intel video and default video driver works just fine. I did upgrade the xorg files as well, something that did not work for me on a system with an nVidia card.