Hard Disks Not Found Issue with OpenSUSE 11

I have been using Mandriva/Mandrake on my server since 2001 just because this was the first Linux distro I was introduced to but it has been pretty stable until recently when I started to get problems with updates, the RPM package manager and KDE 4 (stay with 3.5 or GNOME). I therefore decided to try out OpenSUSE.

My server is an old CPU with an AMD Athlon 1500+ processor and IDE hard drives. I detached all drives except for a single drive where OpenSUSE was to be installed. The harddisk is set up to be master and the DVD-drive is slave on the same IDE bus. The BIOS finds both when the CPU boots but when the installation program probes for a harddisk it comes up with the “no hard disks were found”-error. Had the same error with OpenSUSE 10.3 but I have not tried older versions.

After some search I found that the problem seems to be quite common with certain types of hardware although their seems to be no pattern that I could recognize. After some digging I was able to get the installer to work with the insmod=ide-generic option but now the installed OS won’t boot because it can not find the disk again even with this boot option set. I also tried failsafe boot without success.

My server runs daily with the same HW setup using Mandriva so I presume the hardware must basically be OK. I also tried installing OpenSUSE on other harddisks but with the same outcome.

Hope that somebody could help me figure this out because otherwise my adventures with OpenSUSE are going to end too soon. Any help is appreciated. Cheers.

Hmm… can you post your motherboard and system specs, and also boot to rescue mode (or any LiveCD) and post the output of lspci -v and lspci -n?

PS - any specific reason why you have KDE4 hogging all that memory on a server? If you absolutely need X, how about FVWM, Fluxbox, or something else lightweight?

It’s been a while (and my 64-year-old memory fades).