Google Earth - SUSE 11 - OpenGL Problem

Hi.

My name is Steve and I’m new to SUSE and relatively new to Linux/Unix in general. I have recently installed SUSE 11.0 on a Dell Dimension 9100 that has dual core 3.2GHz CPU, 1GB memory and ATI Radeon X600 graphics card and have gradually tweaked things to enable mp3 and dvd’s to play properly in Kaffeine. I have now moved on to other applications and one of those is Google Earth. I have successfully installed the software but it is running extremely slowly and starts up with the following warning:

‘You are running Google Earth in OpenGL with software emulation’

It then suggests updating my graphics card driver. I’m not sure if this is necessary to be honest. I believe that direct rendering isn’t working in OpenGL for some reason. I would be greatful for some direction on this issue. Thanks.

On 2008-09-19, dell boy <dell_boy@no-mx.forums.opensuse.org> wrote:

> My name is Steve and I’m new to SUSE and relatively new to Linux/Unix
> in general. I have recently installed SUSE 11.0 on a Dell Dimension 9100
> that has dual core 3.2GHz CPU, 1GB memory and ATI Radeon X600 graphics
> card and have gradually tweaked things to enable mp3 and dvd’s to play
> properly in Kaffeine. I have now moved on to other applications and one
> of those is Google Earth. I have successfully installed the software but
> it is running extremely slowly and starts up with the following
> warning:
>
> ‘You are running Google Earth in OpenGL with software emulation’
>
> It then suggests updating my graphics card driver. I’m not sure if this
> is necessary to be honest. I believe that direct rendering isn’t working
> in OpenGL for some reason. I would be greatful for some direction on
> this issue. Thanks.

Go check if the 3D support of your card has ben switched on.
(Yast/Hardware/Graphics Card)

After switching it on, you’ll have to restart KDE. (just log out and back in
again).

Elevators smell different to midgets