full install on USB stick 12.2

Hello all, first i will say that i know a USB stick isnt an ideal medium because running linux off of one will shorten its life.However it is a necessary evil for a project i am working on.

I need to install 12.2 on a stick, and i want it to touch nothing on my main hard drive partition, the reason being i have had issues when grub is loaded on the main hdd and booting to windows when the flash drive is not installed in the system.

i have followed SDB:Installation on external hard drive - openSUSE instructions before with a 12.1 installation and it worked perfectly on my external esata drive. However now when im trying to do the installation on the flash drive the end step with editing the boot is dramatically different. I set partitions the same way as in that guide, but what do i do once i reach the boot set up?

I have very little experience with stick installs, but I’m 100% sure it can be done.
I’ve only done it once and the procedure was straightforward, but there may be a couple of different ways to do it.
First I made a stick bootable, then used live cd to copy installed root filesystem from hdd to usb (ext4 to ext4)
Then it’s just a matter of editing some files, menu.lst and fstab if I recall correctly. (I have not tried this with grub2)
If it throws you to grub cmd instead of booting, manually specify root and initrd location, then boot into it and setup grub with yast.
I’m fairly sure I did specify install to MBR when I did that last part, but I had no other drives connected at the time.
Be careful not to overwrite MBR of the wrong drive, that could cause some problems.

You can roll your own linux distro and make it any way you want. Check out SUSE Studio and specifically this miniSUSE miniSUSE – SUSE Gallery. If that does not work for you check out Puppy Linux Puppy Linux which uses the squash file system to put a whole distro on a usb drive with storage space too. I have used it for years and it works well.