First time installation 13.2. Stuck at loading initial ramdisk...

Starting my own troubleshooting thread.

I’m having an issue with Loading Initial Ramdisk… when Grub2 tries to start openSuse. This is my first time trying out the Linux side in general, so i decided to dual boot my HP Pavilion DV4 laptop with Windows 8.1 (no uefi and no secureboot enabled).
I get openSuse installed and everything worked on initial installation. Then i go ahead and perform the System Updates that are recommended (163 of them) and immediately after restarting it gets stuck at grub2 screen with loading initial ramdisk… I’ve tried re-installing the OS 2 times and installed it on a separate harddrive just for sanity… I don’t know where to start on this issue. i’ve read a bunch of different things about possible graphics drivers issue but not sure where to start.

My graphics card is an AMD/ATI RS880 Radeon HD4200. I did notice that there is an update to the radeon graphics driver in the 163 updates and i’m wondering if that has anything to do with it, but unclear how to drop it back to the old driver. Let me know if anyone has any suggestions. I really wanted to try openSuse since my work uses Suse as their enterprise distribution for servers.

Thanks in advance!

First at boot select advanced and select the recovery boot option. see if that works if it does tell use and we will go on from there

Hey Gogal,

it does not, I’ve tried both kernal options that i now have as well and neither work.

Did you do any changes to the standard install?
ie swap,root,home partitions? Did you use at least 40gig for root? What size are your partitions

Did you hibernate?

Are you sure you ran the installer in legacy mode and not in EFI??

On the spare harddrive that i installed on i formatted the entire drive and created the following

20 GiB /
8 GiB SWAP
20 GiB /Home

i did not hibernate at all.