firewalld and restricted zone traffic

My background is one where the networking environment is to disallow all network traffic unless specifically allowed. I just revolt against the philosophy of block everything in and allow everything out.

Be warned that my example will break many things in your environment so be prepared to utilize tcpdump or wireshark to resolve issues. Also, my example is completely IPv4. IPv6 is certainly supported by firewalld.

Some understanding of firewalld is required to understand my configuration example. The documentation is at:

https://firewalld.org/documentation/

An understanding of iptables rules is required since that is the format firewalld utilizes in this example.

I am going to leave it to the reader to decide how they want to create zones, rules, etc. The options are to utilize firewall-cmd, firewall-config, or direct xml file manipulation. Purists will probably dislike the last option. However, the xml files are what firewalld reads to build the configurations, and the syntax of those files is what I am going to deal with, not how to use firewall-cmd or a GUI.

Put another way: I expect the reader to understand firewalld. What you use to get to the final xml file generation I will leave to you.

NOTE: If you need to NAT your internal connections to the Internet utilize firewalld to implement this masquerading functionality. You will notice in my example I create no special rules to NAT, and it is probably a bad idea to. Yet, all my connections to the Internet use NAT through eth0.

firewalld allows you to comment xml files. I have no idea if they survive when utilizing running to permanent operations in the GUI, but I will utilize the syntax in my xml files as an inline documentation process.