driver intallation rt2870 - opensuse 11.1

I’m studying and working through the process @ SDB:ASUS WL-160N USB Wireless Adapter - openSUSE

Although I don’t have the WL-160N adapter, the Linksys USB adapter appears to use the same rt2870 driver. My assumption is that adapter brand name doesn’t matter.

I’m through the “Driver Configuration and Build”, but am stuck on the install kernal source gcc reference.

Thanks in advance for any direction on next steps.

I’m through the “Driver Configuration and Build”, but am stuck on the install kernal source gcc reference.
means you need to go to YaST - software management & find & install them.

Andy

Andy, thanks!

I went through the process that you recommended, but the correct package repositories are not present in “default” 11.1 Do I need to go here Add Package Repositories to YaST - openSUSE to download what is necessary?

Thanks in advance for your ongoing assistance!

Kernel sources,gcc/gcc++ & kernel headers,etc, should be on your install dvd.Once installed you will need to update them as well.Unless ----- you installed via cd,then, all of this will require additional repo’s. If you don’t have the dvd,add this repo & disable the cd ftp://ftp.gwdg.de/pub/opensuse/distribution/11.1/repo/oss/suse/ selecting which arch you have

Andy

Andy,thanks! Since I downloaded the CD version of 11.1, and have it installed, I’ll need to get the 11.1 add-on package repository.
You referenced “selecting which arch you have”. Please explain what that means.

Thanks again in advance for your support!

arch = architecture i.e. i586,i686,ppc x86_64 etc of your p.c./laptop

Andy

Andy, thank you for answering my questions. I’m obviously very new to linux, but not completely “computer” illiterate. I appreciate your patience!!

No problem, we are here to help as much as we can

Andy