Do I have to babysit updates and other questions from a new user

Hello everyone,

I’m quite new to rolling release and RPM based distros having used and administered point-release Debian based ones for over a decade.

I have some questions that are more or less tied to each other.

1. I see with Fedora (more) and SUSE (less), the package maintainer does not ship /etc configs, if there is one it’s a bare bones minimal one with virtually no comments or explanation. In Debian for example, the maintainer and package manager sets this up to sane defaults with commented out config options and explanations that can be modified relatively easy. To those who haven’t used Debian, a good example I can think of is the difference in /etc/default/grub between Fedora (lean/bare bones) and SUSE/Debian (what I would call normal or full fat).

Is the user expected to create their own /etc configs from reading manpages or from /usr/etc or somewhere else in /usr. How do you handle this?

1. How does zypper and rpm handle config updates that both the user and the package maintainer modify on distribution upgrade (dup)? For example, as the maintainer ships /etc/default/grub and I modify it, will zypper ask me what to do on dup, as in keep the original (old modified by me), use the new shipped by maintainer or view the diff and make a choice? So far I have not encountered such questions.

2. How do you handle updates, specifically are you present while doing them or do you non interactively do them with a systemd timer/service every day? I’m afraid of being in this guy’s position of having a broken system, to be fair I’m not sure I would’ve fared better handling that manually.

Thank you,
Pavin.

@pavinjoseph Tumbleweed did a /usr/etc merge some time back where all the defaults are, /etc is for the admin to configure as required to override defaults append etc.

1 Like

I don’t “babysit” updates. I do something else while the update is proceeding.