Disk Boot up Error

Hi All,

I’m still fairly new to SUSE and Linux. Not too long ago I turned my system on and after a few minutes the computer stopped its boot up sequence after the grub menu disappeared. Tried a few reboots but this made no difference. I’ve managed to boot into the system by loading an older kernel (3.8.6.2) and changed the boot options to verbose so I can see line by line what’s happening. Below is a copy of the error message and the PC stops dead in its tracks.

FATAL: Module raid0 not found
FATAL: Module raid1 not found
FATAL: Module raid456 not found
Trying manual resume from /dev/disk/by-id/md-uuid-5a7d9b67:abb51b75:cbd4aa19:7c13e99f-part1
resume from /dev/disk/by-id/md-uuid-5a7d9b67:abb51b75:cbd4aa19:7c13e99f-part1 not found (ignoring)
Trying manual resume from /dev/disk/by-id/md-uuid-5a7d9b67:abb51b75:cbd4aa19:7c13e99f-part1
resume from /dev/disk/by-id/md-uuid-5a7d9b67:abb51b75:cbd4aa19:7c13e99f-part1 not found (ignoring)
Waiting for device /dev/root to appear:… Could not find /dev/root
Want me to fall back to /dev/disk/by-id/md-uuid-5a7d9b67:abb51b75:cbd4aa19:7c13e99f-part2? (Y/n)

I’m running a Raid0 ext4, 12.3 64 bit system. As I’ve mentioned above, if I boot into an older kernel, the computer boots no problem and I’m able to carry on. Any help would greatly be appreciated.

What kernel are you trying to run that is failing? The other kernel that is working for you is not even in kernel stable repo, are you running tumbleweed? Sorry, I am not much help with raid are there modules that need to be built per kernel flavor?

Hi thanks for the reply.

The kernel I’m trying to run is 3.9.0.6 and now that you’ve asked the question about Tumbleweed and modules per kernel, this is starting to make sense :).

Without having to do a full re-install, should I update the kernel I can run to the latest stable version? If I do that, how can I get rid of the other kernels?

Any advice is much appreciated.