Copy programs to usb

Hello everyone and thank you for reading my first post. No major issue, but guidance is needed! Is there a way to put all my downloaded programs on a usb stick and install on a new computer? Or to back up the entire system and restore to a new computer? I’ve looked around and see this and see that, but can’t figure out what the best way is to work it. Can I make a snapper or timeshift backup to a usb and then restore that on a fresh install on a different computer?

Thanks in advance. I’m still in my first year of linux use so I’m definitely still a noob… but I’m coming along pretty good I think. Love it. Love OpenSuse (but also love Fedora). Yesterday I installed windows decorations (klassy) through konsole as I like having the active window titlebar have the accent color. Two months ago it would have sunk my battleship. :blush:

Hi, welcome
In short: yes, you can do what you want to achieve, but it does not work like with downloaded programs on Windows.

Yeah I figured the path would be a little more murky what with dependencies and all that. Is there a specific process I could follow or an app? I know NixOs makes it super easy with the config file, but that’s not possible with opensuse, right?

At the end of the day I can just do it manual. But a shortcut would be so great as I have several non-networked computers I’ll be installing it on.

Basically yes, but you should keep in mind, that an installed system is in some way “tailored” to the specific hardware environment it is installed on.

Although most hardware handling is done by the kernel there can be some packages missing which are necessary to run some of the hardware (e.g. graphics card, wifi, audio, …) of the new computer.

Ok and thank you. Is there a certain program I should use for best results? Does anyone have a good resource / link I could use?

To just to add a point…. I’d really like it if my customizations would follow. But even if it’s just programs it would be good.