Configuring Autostart Programs and System Tray Programs

I’m new to openSUSE 11.0 (former Ubuntu user), and I’m trying to figure out how to control what programs start on startup, as well as how to disable some programs in the system tray (down by the clock). For example, I want thunderbird and amarok to run on startup down there, but I do not need the network manager or the power applet (I do happen to know that my desktop PC is “plugged in”…). How can I change these things? I’m also new to KDE, so I’m pretty lost in some of these things…

Thanks,
Dan

You can write a shell script and put on your Autostart directory.
example:
#vi /home/aaa/.kde/Autostart/amarok-start.sh

#!/bin/sh
amarok &

You will see the amarok program startup in KDE environment.

Dan,

KDE3 by default saves your session on exit, so often it helps to just leave things as you want them to be and log out. E.g. that should give you Amarok in the tray.

As for not starting thing: Depends. Keep in mind that the KPowersave applet not only deals with the battery, but all powersave options, like suspend. Right click, Configure…, General Settings, Miscellaneous, uncheck “Kpowersave starts automatically…”

HTH
Uwe

unfotunately there is no way to minimize thunderbird to the task bar. you need to find thirdparty software such as “alltray” to do this for you

-c

I already have the Thunderbird minimizing program, called moztraybiff I believe. So that’s not a problem.

Brian, when you suggest writing a script, is the example you posted exactly what I should do in a terminal, or do I need to create a text file?

-Dan

Can anybody answer my question about writing that script? I’m just not sure specifically what I should do. I always leave thunderbird open when I shut down, and it is the only thing that does not autostart (though I haven’t tried kcheckgmail yet), so I probably do need that script.

Thanks,
Dan

dbsoundman wrote:

>
> Can anybody answer my question about writing that script? I’m just not