Changing partition size

Hi,

I’m hoping that someone out there can help an absolute novice. My laptop has a 60GB hard drive, which my ex-husband set up with a 20GB partition for Windows XP and a 40GB partition with Suse 11, which suited me fine at the time. However, I’m now finding that I need to install a whole bunch of extra Windows programs relating to my work, and the 20GB partition is no longer sufficient, while I’m hardly using any space at all under Linux.

Please could someone explain in very simple words of one syllable how I might go about redistributing the space between the two partitions (any other solutions to my lack of space problem also welcome)? Please bear in mind that I’m pretty clueless when it comes to this kind of thing!

Thanks in advance,

BFTSA

Changing partition sizes is not a easy thing at anytime unless you have the knowledge and understand the theory. It is extremely easy to mess everything up. That said…

To start we need to see the real partitioning not just your understanding.
Boot into the Linux OS and open a command line window console/Konsole/xterm.
become root (administrator) by typing

su -
then the root password (note the password does NOT echo to the screen)
type
**fdisk -l **
(note that is a lower case L not a one)

report the output here. (Note you can copy and paste into a browser by using the menu on the console window to copy selected text)

We can then formulate a way for you to proceed.

I would backup any important data from both partitions and I would be prepared for the worst in case you hose something when trying to resize the partitions.

Also, I would first see if I could free up the Windows partition by removing programs and data not needed and then I would clean out any temp files using cCleaner.

Changing the size of a partition is fairly simple, but can be risky (although I myself have never had anything bad happen by doing it).