Can't install tumbleweed but works in a VM

Hey guys,
I’m new to OpenSUSE, but not new to Linux. I thought I would give OpenSUSE a shot on my laptop, which has been running Ubuntu lately(was Fedora, Linux Mint, and a couple others). I thought I would try Tumbleweed, because I’ve not used a rolling distro yet. I downloaded the latest ISO and played with it in Gnome boxes for a few minutes… I liked it. But when I went to install it, I used Unetbootin, it would not boot into OpenSUSE on my laptop. I then tried extracting the ISO directly to the USB stick, and same result. I know it’s not the ISO because it works fine in a VM. I have a Dell Precision M2400, N series. What’s wrong and how can I fix it?
Thanks,
Micah

Just copy (don’t extract) the iso to the USB device (not a partition on the device).

The iso is boot ready you can just us cp to copy the iso file direct to the USB /dev

Which ISO? There are full DVD, NET install, Live GNOME and Live KDE, Rescue. And each 32 or 64 bit.

But when I went to install it, I used Unetbootin

Normally when you install openSUSE you boot ISO (or USB) and select Installation from bootloader menu. Could you explain what are you trying to do here?

I got the Tumbleweed ISO entitled, “openSUSE-Tumbleweed-KDE-Live-x86_64-Snapshot20150924-Media.iso”. I tried booting a Unetbootin USB and I couldn’t even get to the Unetbootin menu. I also tried copying and pasting the ISO to a USB like Gogalthorp recommended and it didn’t work. I select the USB from the boot-loader menu and it just doesn’t work.
What it is that I’m trying to do is just install OpenSUSE on my laptop from a USB.:slight_smile:

Hard to say what you are doing wrong works like a charm here.

Ok first of all NO and I repeat NO boot helper like unetbooten is needed or even useful. Just put it and any other usb boot maker helper out of you mind.