Can't get VNC to work for the life of me

Hey everyone.

I’m not a linux pro by any means but I’ve followed this tutorial on starting VNC services within Suse 11.4 and just cannot get it to work.

TightVNC (VNC Xvnc) on openSUSE as Client or Server (Remote Desktop Connections)

I’ve installed the RPMs
Initialized passwords
Edited the xstartup file in VI for KDE 4.x
Started the VNC service using “dbus-launch vncserver”

And still cannot VNC into the SUSE machine from my Windows 7 workstation or my Windows Server 2003 workstation using both UltraVNC viewer and TightVNC viewer. Nothing.

Some help is greatly appreciated.

Firewall has 5900 open for this service, everything is being done on a LAN.

Side question: How do I edit a file in KWrite (instead of VI) from the bash shell?

Not good at all with VI and would rather edit files in KWrite, just don’t know how to launch it from bash…

Thanks everyone!

When you start VNC with dbus-launch vncserver, and nothing else, IIRC it defaults to window :1 (i.e. port 5901). So I am wondering how did you open the allowed service in the openSUSE firewall? I use YaST>Security and Users>Firewall, and then select “Alllowed Services” on the left. For “External Zone”, the “Service to allow”, by adding it, is VNC. That will open ports 5900 to 5999. For security, you should delete the “VNC” service using the same Firewall function when you have finished.

Hey consused,

Thanks for your reply.

I don’t have the SUSE firewall enabled since we’re testing various services on this VM and we have a hardware network firewall to take care of everything anyway.

I was able to launch VNC by running the dbus-launch vncserver command and browsing to my SUSE host at 10.x.x.x:7

:7 since that’s what I saw in bash after starting the VNC service