Can't format

hi
I’m new to linux and this is my first post…

I have two SATA hard disks of 160 GB each. I have windows 7 on one of the disks and the other one is left empty (Unused).

When I tried to install open SUSE 11.2, I select the expert partioner. I could see the disks as,

/dev/mapper/…

and not as /dev/sda or /dev/sdb.
Under the disks section, i could see sda and sdb. But when i tried to select sdb and try to add a new partition, I get a message,

"Disk in use, cannot add partition"

Can anyone help me please…I want to install SUSE on the unused disk.

Configuration:
motherboard: asus p5n e sli
grapics: nvidia quadro 540
cpu: intel core 2 duo
hard disks: Seagate 160GB x 2

Do you have your drive configured in raid?

Or has it been part of a raid config before?

Are you using a CD or DVD to install with. If using the CD and running the Live Desktop, make sure you have not tried accessing any of your HD’s.
Or run the installer from the boot menu, rather than going to the live desktop.

Sounds like it is RAIDed.

If so that second drive is being used.

Yes I’ve configure the hard disks in raid before when i was using windows xp. Now im using windows 7 without the raid configs.

I was trying to install Suse through a DVD.

What should I do???

Have you got a working backup of anything you may want to keep?
(and checked that backup)?

Did you setup the RAID in the BIOS? Sure the disk is not used?

@dvhenry, yes I have created the back up of everything I want to keep.

@Knurpht, I have deleted the disk using Gparted using a live ubuntu cd.

I think I have turned off the raid option in the bios. I’ll have to check it again though… :)(One of my friends did the Raid setup when I was using xp)

It must be some remains of the raid setup, otherwise the problem would not exist. If not in the BIOS, then on the disk.

What you can do:

• disconnect the 2nd drive, see if Win7 boots normally. If so