Can't Access USB HDD

Hi All,

I have used Ubuntu a few times in the past but never really had any issues with it so im still quite new to Linux as far as dealing with problems go. I decided to give suse a try but I cant seem to access my USB HDD.

If I type fdisk -l in a terminal my drive shows up but I cant find it anywhere. Im more used to Gnome but decided to try KDE for this install so it possible im just not looking in the right place but when I insert a USB flash drive its easily found under the computer section of the kick starter/app launcher button.

Here is my fdisk -l(I have to run this as root, is that normal?)

gandalf:/home/iain # fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 640.1 GB, 640135028736 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 77825 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x000f0033

Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1               1         262     2104483+  82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda2   *         263        2873    20972857+  83  Linux
/dev/sda3            2874       77825   602051940   83  Linux

Disk /dev/sdb: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x8d399bc0

Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdb1   *           1       60802   488383488    7  HPFS/NTFS
gandalf:/home/iain #

Could someone help please?

Thanks

just remembered a while ago I tried to reformat the drive as fat32 but windows would only let me select NTFS or exFAT so I selected exFAT, does SUSE read this type of filesystem?

I think not

I tried to reformat the drive as fat32 but windows would only let me

This is most odd!

First off, to answer your question about “fdisk -l”, you do need to run this command as root. That is normal.

Second, I must ask about your USB hard drive. Do you leave it connected to the same USB port all of the time while running openSUSE?