Cannot download AdobeAir

Hi
I am a newbie with 11.2 on acer 1362wlmi laptop using KDE.

So far I am making progress but need to install adobe air which is required by BBC iplayer.

If I try to access the site rich Internet applications | Adobe AIR from Firefox I get a very rapid “unable to connect” message.

I suspect that it is a firewall problem but I cannot find it and dont know how to configure it.

Looking at all the Adobe flak on the web I suspect there are things I need to know.
thanks
Ralph

Access is OK for me
Unlikely a SUSE firewall problem
Have you tried get_iplayer?

Hi
thats the problem with being a newbi
sadly “get_iplayer” does not mean anything to me (yet). So I would not know where to find it or what to do with it when I get it.
The learning curve for people fleeing from Windoze is extremely steep and many Forum posts not aimed at the newbie might be useful but are often in a language not yet learned.

If I try to get BBCiplayer in Firefox by downloading a BBC programme which forces the install if the Iplayer Desktop then almost immediately it tries to load Flash (and I already have 10.1.r53 loaded) and within seconds “a download error occurred - Try again?” message pops up.

So I decided to try to get flash and air loaded the hard way - hence my plea for help
thanks for your interest

I wanted to update this thread with coms made with the OP via PM and email. I sent OP get_iplayer package and fix.

Comment from OP

So I have done nothing today.

However last night I used your CLI notes to successfully select and download a program. It would not play - I think Kaffeine is broken in 11.2 and I have not investigated yet. I also loaded VLC but I think it needs setting up as it plays the file but I get a screen full of numbers in the vague form of the picture - not useable in its present form.