Can not restart system

I’m a newbie to Linux. Yesterday I installed openSuse from the DVD I purchased through Novell. I read the manual prior to installing at least four times. Here is the problem. I have an HP Pavilion laptop that I went ahead and allowed the installation to remove the Windows partition and take up the entire hard drive. It appeared to have worked successfully. I was able to play around with the desktop and review/navigate other folders and items. I went to restart the system to see if the wireless networks would work. However it reboots to just a black screen. What do I need to do? Any and all help is appreciated.

does the computer do anything, while the screen was black?
how long did you wait, until you killed the computer?

The computer doesn’t do anything just sit there. Reminds me of blue screen of death in windows. I waited about 30 minutes before I killed the computer…that was last night. This morning I came in hoping it was different but no changes. So I inserted the DVD and it responded at least. I chose Repair Install but I haven’t done anything else because I want to make sure I do the right thing.

repair the system, if the system doesn’t work right after the installation, there is not much you can do wrong.

If it doesn’t work, format the disk and install it again

I started the repair and it gave me a warning:
Cannot access installation media (Medium 1) URL http://download.opnesuse.org/distribution/11.0/repo/non-oss/repodata/repomd.xml
What does this mean?

I really hope that wasn’t copied and pasted

opensuse is spelled wrong…that may #1

Do you have internet access? Protected only?

When you start the computer, does it at least
get to the Boot Loader screen? Green w/ a
couple of options?

Any chance this is a monitor issue?
Sorry just had to ask…

Likely a monitor issue
boot to runlevel 3
login as root

sax2 -r -m 0=vesa

reboot