C++ mkdir() permission problems

Hello everyone,

I’m quite new to programming and I’m currently using C++. I’m writing a small program (https://bitbucket.org/Superpelican/clamshell_cli/) that needs to create a (hidden) config directory in the users home folder (named .clamshell). The program will for example store language packs that it downloads and a settings file in the ~/.clamshell directory.

So created a .clamshell dir with

int mkdir_return_value = mkdir(config_dir.c_str(), 0660);

where config_dir contains “/home/username/.clamshell”. the home directory is obtained by getenv(“HOME”)

However whenever I try to enter the .clamshell dir my program created dolphin complains with: “Could not enter folder /home/jurre/.clamshell.”. When I check the permissions of the folder it seems the permissions of the folder seem to be set to forbidden to view and modify for owner (my user account is the owner), the group (users) and others. While my program should set the permissions to read and write allowed by owner and group. The dolphin permissions tab clearly says I’m the owner.

I can manually set the permissions in Dolphin from “forbidden” to “can view & modify content” for “owner”, “group” and “others”, even without entering the root password! According to online permissions calculators, including: Unix Permissions by Project Fondue, 0660 should allow the owner and his group to read and write. However Dolphin’s advanced permission tab says something else:
http://ubuntuone.com/47WHlNx8eqBL4uB9CFgEYa

because youre not setting the mode directly with mkdir, you set the mode to:

*mode* & ~*umask* & 0777

this is specified in the man page: mkdir(2) - Linux manual page
a wider explanation can be found here: Linux for You :): umask concept

above you stated you are the owner of the folder. an owner can change all attributes of a file/dir

On 04/14/2013 10:56 AM, Superpelican wrote:
> whenever I try to enter the .clamshell dir my program created