boot problem with Leap 42.2 - can I install open SUSE 15.2

Hello!

I am a beginner when it comes to Linux installation. I run into boot problems with Linux installation I had (Leap 42.2) while trying to install python and fixing some libraries inconsistencies (not very successfully obviously). I have some limited support and I think there was an attempt to go back to the previous installation to undo the python mess I created. But right now I have a boot problem.

The error i see on screen is the following:

[FONT=Times]failed to create mount unit file /run/systemd/generator/home.mount duplicate entry[/FONT]

According to some online posts this is a ‘cosmetic problem’ and not a cause for the boot errors. Following the post advice I hit Esc to see more information that could identify the problem and the hang happens after:

[FONT=Times] OK ] Started Getty on tty1.[/FONT]
[FONT=Times] OK ] Started target Login Prompts.[/FONT]
[FONT=Times] OK ] Started /etc/init.d/after.local Compatibility
Starting X Display Manager
Starting Locale Service
[/FONT]

So perhaps this is the windows manager that crashes since there is no ‘OK’ there? I dont get to the point where I can log or use command line to see something more.

I am wondering what should I do now. And specifically if I can simply try to download the open suse 15.2 and try to boot from a DVD

http://download.opensuse.org/distribution/leap/15.2/iso/openSUSE-Leap-15.2-DVD-x86_64.iso

Forgive my ignorance but can you point me to some reading or posts where I could learn more to about how to upgrade without possibly loosing the existing files? I guess normally you make a backup and then just run an upgrade, but I can not boot.
I have two disks mounted. Not that much I worry about on the main disk that contained all the main partitions in the current install. And en extra disk with quite a lot I would like to still have access too. I am not sure I understand/explain this properly.

Any advice much appreciated!

Kasia