Bare Metal Backup

I have a Dell 2900 with dual 64bit quad cores and a intergrated factory raid controler.

It currently has SUSE 10.1 running in the main Raid set. I am new to SUSE and just learning UNIX.

A friend of mine told me about the possible problems with Ghost and how partition information is reassembled during recovery as well as the file system my SUSE uses. I am using ReiserFS. “I heard he is in jail for killing his pregnant wife and that support may be a future problem”.

I need a way to bare metal this machine in the event it crashes.

The main role of this machine is a VMserver. Dell shipped the machine with SUSE and I have started learning it to save the costs associated with a Microsoft host OS… Just trying to purchase a Microsoft host OS that supports 16G of ram and dual quad core 64bit processors hurts! Especily when it is just for this role!

I am at the satge where I am faced with so much information to absorb it is all scattered on the floor. I have started moving some of the pieces around and looked at the edges but am in no way close to snapping the puzzle together.

Any advice you could provide would be appreatiated.

Thanks
Randall

When you say bare metal do you intend to cold swap to an identical machine?

Could you pull out the RAID drives in an emergency and slot them into an identical spare? You would have to prepare one or two files where the device ID matters, like the udev rule for activating NICs (you can put rules from both machines with both MAC addresses in there)

Or do you intend to do a full restore from a image?

If you have an identical spare, why not use it in load balancing? That would reduce the time pressure.

How time critical is recovery for you anyway?

I would probably not go with reiserfs if only because it is going nowhere and at some point distros will not fix any more bugs discovered in it, if not already.