ATI drivers - resolution and black screen

Hello there,

This is my first post and I am new to linux. I decided to try it out and give openSUSE a shot, after some thinking of choosing the right distro.

I use a Dell laptop with ATI graphics, 15 inch screen and 1360x760 (or something) max resolution.

The problem is that I can’t choose a resolution bigger than 1024x768, I don’t know why. However, I figured out it might be the ATI drivers (I had another graphics problem installing another distro in the past). I went to openSUSE faq and followed the 1-click install of ATI drivers and rebooted. After that, when I choose Desktop to boot loader (normal boot I guess) I got a black screen instead, with laptop making some noise from inside. I noted that it said “vga=037” or something in boot options. When I try to login at safe mode, I log in normally but got “Unknown Monitor” in display options.

Any suggestions how to fix this? I am really pissed lol!

Good on ya for trying to update to the ATI proprietary graphic driver.

Unfortunately you were unlucky wrt your timing.

I suspect this is a known problem with the latest openSUSE kernel breaking the ATI proprietary Catalyst driver. There are various threads on this (with hack/patches to work around):

Good luck !

Very sad to hear that. Do you have any idea when should we expect a fix? Could it be in more than a month?

The problem is the kernel upstream was updated (without downstream consultation) to fix a security problem that broke the proprietary ATI driver and SuSE-GmbH applied that kernel fix downstream on the openSUSE distribution. Neither SuSE-GmbH, nor the kernel developers, will fix the proprietary driver. Its up to ATI.

ATI’s record for graphic driver updates is that they will come, but they come slowly. Once / month ATI typically produces a new update. That may or may not contain a fix. I would not hold my breath.