ATI Driver Problem

Hello,
Sorry for my bad english but i’m German.
I’m new in openSUSE.

If got a Sapphire ATI Radeon X1650 Series PRO (AGP)
but the Drivers are the same as the normal ones of the ATI Radeon X1650 Series.

I installed the new openSUSE 11.0 yesterday.
openSUSE does not integrate ATI Drivers, so I didn’t got a 3D Funktion.

I’ve found this driver from Advanced Micro Devices, AMD - Homepage for normal 86/32 Bit Systems from the 18 June:

ATI Catalyst™ 8.6 Proprietary Linux x86 Display Driver

Now I tried to install the Driver on my self with this tutorial:

ATI-Treiber unter openSUSE 10.2 installieren - openSUSE (DE)

The Tutorial is only for 10.3.
After I’ve done it i had to reboot but after LogIn the Screen became black and nothing happened anymore.

Then I took a view on the english version and i noticed that it was a newer version then the german. There was something with an automatic installer.

ATI - openSUSE (EN/US)

How can I install the driver correctly so that i can aktivate the 3D funktion?

Thanks for Help

greetings Cedric

There exists a repository, which includes the newest driver. You could add this within yast or you could use the ATI-current one-click from openSUSE-Community.org

Hello,
So at first I installed the (community) repository with YaST, but it don’t work. After that I installed the drivers with the 1-Klick-easy-install-file, but it still don’t work. Both have installed successfully, but I can’t activate the 3D funktion. :confused:

greetings Cedric

After the ati driver has installed, assuming you used the repository method,

boot into run level 3,
login as root or normal user and become root by typing “su -”

now type “sax2 -r”

after the sax2 config has finished, type

“reboot”

3d acceleration should work after this.

Hello,
Sorry for this simply question but i’m new to openSUSE.
How can I switch to runlevel 3?

Maybe with typing in ‘# init 3’ as root?