ATI Driver broke GUI?

Hi, I’m new here and to linux in general.
Earlier today I installed openSUSE 11.3 on my 64-bit system. It seemed to work and I logged on and installed flash player, etc.
I downloaded the proprietary ATI drivers from the wiki page because I wanted compiz effects and all that good stuff. It appeared to work.
Unfortunately, after I installed the driver desktop effects crashed whenever I tried to open it.
So, I did the logical thing and restarted.
Now, when I try to start my openSUSE OS it looks like it starts to load and then stops and starts loading the command line in grub or something.
sooooo does anyone have any ideas? :stuck_out_tongue:
Thanks for the help in advance

System specs:
intel core i7 x920 (2.0ghz)
8gb RAM
ATI Radeon HD 5650 1gb
dual booting openSUSE 11.3 with windows 7

again, i’m a complete noob with linux so i apologize for any lack of knowledge i might have

Its possible you have been unlucky, as from what I have read, a security update to the 2.6.34.7-0.3 kernel has broken the ATI proprietary graphic driver: ATI Catalyst graphics driver install failure in SuSE 11.3
… whats worse (in my view) is it is the sort of break that I suspect we may not see a fix fast coming. There is a work around available, but some claim the work around is a security risk, and its not clear to me how easy it is to apply the work around, as I could not understand the work around update instructions.

You may be best trying to use the opensource radeon driver.

Some graphic card theory: openSUSE Graphic Card Practical Theory Guide for Users

My apologies if the above gives too little, or too much (and hence insulting) information. Its very difficult at times to assess a user’s knowledge level.

Hi, thanks for the reply.
It seems like that might be my problem, as I installed a security update right before installing the ATI driver (lol)