Amaya on Suse 12.1

Hi I am trying to install Amaya on Suse 12.1 but I get the message:

Nothing provides libcrypto.so.7 needed by amaya_wx-11.3.1-0.i386

I have looked to see if I can find libcrypto by running:

ls -l /usr/lib/libcrypto.so*
ls: cannot access /usr/lib/libcrypto.so*: No such file or directory

I have looked in:RPM Search libcrypto.so.7 but I don’t know which of the listed rpms would be safe to use.

My machine is a 32bit Acer Aspire SA90. So I’m guessing that

archive.fedoraproject.org/fedora/linux/updates/10/i386/openssl-0.9.8g-14.fc10.i386.rpm or
archive.fedoraproject.org/fedora/linux/updates/10/i386/openssl-0.9.8g-14.fc10.i686.rpm
would supply the module I need, but may overwrite something else.

Can anyone advise me please, I am not a linux developer and haven’t used it much?

You do not explain at all how you try to install. You seem to think that here is but one way to install something on an openSUSE (not Suse) system. That is wrong. There are many methods that in the end fill the generic term of “install”.

Thus explain exact and precise how you are trying to install. And when that is not from the openSUSE standard repos, tell where you got it.

Hi Henk, thank you for reponding.

I downloaded Amaya from Amaya Binary Releases to a folder in my home folder.

From the Start menu I took the Computer tab and Install/Remove Software, which gave me Yast2.

In Yast2 - Configuration - Repositories gave me an Add button to add my folder into the list of repositories.

Then View - Repositories gave a list of repositories and I clicked the one I had just added, bringing up the amaya_wx distribution with an empty tick box, which I ticked and I immediately got the message about libcrypto. I took an option not to install rather than break the installation and then researched the web to see if I could find a solution. There appeared to be two:

1. find a version of libcrypto on my pc and issue some commands to say “hey, use this one”