Adding A New HardDrive

Hello
This is my first post, i am new to linux

I installed suse12.3 to a 120gb drive it has 2.5gb swap, 30gb system(root), and the remainder of drive is a separate partition for /home
the machine had a 1tb ntfs drive with some data on it when i installed suse

I have been given a 750gb drive, I installed this into machine used yast to partition it with a format ex4 and added mounting point /hard-drives/750gb
the problem i am having is i cant write to the drive when i am logged in with my user account but i can write to it when i am in root or if i use super-user dolphin

how do i change the permissions so i can read/write to the drive when i am logged in with my user account

i also have some but not major problems with the ntfs drive i have to use the root password when i open dolphin and click on the drive but i can read/write to it
after inputting the root password can this been changed so i can use drive without entering the root password?

thanks
stan

Edit the line in fstab to

defaults 0 0

see this:
https://forums.opensuse.org/english/get-technical-help-here/how-faq-forums/unreviewed-how-faq/413463-fstab-editing-manually.html

You may need to chown -R
or not
do the fstab edit first, be careful

hi caf4926

is your reply for the ntfs drive?..

i am very new to linux as in 2wks first time i have tried any other operating system other than windows

On 2013-03-29 20:46, stantheman1066 wrote:
> the problem i am having is i cant write to the drive when i am logged
> in with my user account but i can write to it when i am in root or if i
> use super-user dolphin

You need to read about permissions in unix/linux :slight_smile:

Ok, so this is an ext4 filesystem. You can, once it is mounted, change
the permissions or ownership or both of “/hard-drives/750gb”, or create
a directory and chown it to your normal user.

Cheers / Saludos,

Carlos E. R.
(from 12.1 x86_64 “Asparagus” at Telcontar)

right i think i understand now…