Accidentally broke my Python

So I’m new to the Suse scene but I’m liking it since it made my unstable motherboard “stable” for the most part. While installing a few ymp files I accidentally broke my Python setup and now a few systems don’t work anymore. The main one that I’d like to get working again is Lutris. I’ve tried to research and test several different ways to fix my Python, but to no success. Wine, PlayonLinux, nor Phoenicis Playonlinux don’t seem to work either. I’d rather not do a full system reinstall to try and fix it since I’ve already done a lot of work on this install. I’ll admit when I was installing one of the YMP’s, it did warn me that it might break Python. But, in my ignorance, I forced it to anyway. Lesson learned. Any help to repairing the default Python would be greatly appreciated.

Hi and welcome to this forum!

I’m afraid, more information will be needed than “While installing a few ymp files I accidentally broke my Python setup”. One would have to know what and how you installed, how you find your Python broken, etc.

However, as you said you are new to openSUSE. If you followed the standard install the file system - at least on Leap - would be BTRFS and you might have snapshots enabled. In that case you could do a

snapper rollback ###

with ### being the number of the latest “safe” snapshot.
As root a

snapper list

would help. If you get a list and find a safe place to return to, you could restart installing the packages you wanted to get when breaking your Python.

Unfortunately I entered right into tumbleweed and not from leap. The snapshots confused me, but I think i found a way to roll back to a previous version of Python install. I tried it, restarted, but same issue. So I ran

sudo lutris

in a terminal and copy/pasted the output in case this shines some light on what’s going on to someone with more knowledge (wouldn’t take much) about this then I have.

phoenix@localhost:~> sudo lutris
[sudo] password for root: