Access network scanner?

opensuse newbie here (OS12.3):

I have a combined Epson printer/scanner connected to my network, and I want to access that for scanning from my opensuse 12.3 box. The device has been added on this box as a network printer, so I can print to it, but the yast/Scanners tool has failed to detect it as a scanner.

It isn’t connected to a server as such, but wirelessly to my router (the router can see it and has allocated it an IP address). Should I use its IP address as the server name in the scanner config, before attempting to detect it? I assumed the scanner detection would poll the network to see what was available without having to be told which ‘server’ to look at.

OpenSuseBox -------wired------> router <-------wireless-------- EpsonScanner (192.168.0.100)

I can ping the printer/scanner from my Opensuse box, so the network connection is OK.

Previously I was using debian 6, and I had no bother detecting the device as both network printer and network scanner, so I assuming that my problem is not knowing how to do this in OpenSuse rather than something more serious.

TIA

AFAIU, you’ll need to configure by hand for network scanning. You didn’t tell us which Epson model you have. That may have an impact on the SANE backend and exact steps required. The iscan, iscan-data, and iscan-network-nt packages from Epson support a numer of models, with the last package being required for scanning from a network scanner.

Info on that here:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/sane#For_Epson_hardware

Proprietary drivers from Epson:

EPSON Download Center

It’s an SX425W printer/scanner.

To be clear - do I get those packages from the OS repositories, ie with the Install Software tool, or from Epson?

Later: well Install Software doesn’t list them, so I guess Epson?