A good audio recorder program ?

Hi all,

I wonder if some of you would give me a helping hand ? :wink:

I’m pretty new to opensuse, and running 11.4 (with which I’m very impressed, by the way:)).

I’m looking for a stable audio recorder program, which should be used for recording audio from the line-in jack.
The purpose of the setup would be recording broadcasts from a particular FM network, and since good sound quality is needed, ability to record in 128kbit ogg or even better would be highly appreciated.

The computer is planned to run 24/7, and so the program should be capable of splitting the recordings into “smaller” files, eg. named by the actual date.

If possible, if would be cool if the recorder would have an “auto-pause” feature, making it pause automatically whenever no audio was present (and automatically start recording again, once audio signal reappeared on the jack).

Any help, tips or suggestions would be highly appreciated, thanks in advance !

Best regards,
Kim

Have a look at sox, or rather one of its alter egos, rec. man 1 sox.

thanks

I’ll check it out right away

Hi kimdelta, if the broadcast is streamed via web, then you can try Amarok as well. Through Amarok Settings / Scripts / additional scrips, pull in the “RecordStreams” plugin. This makes use of “streamripper” which can be installed via YAST - Softwaremanagement (source: Packman). That script reads in the stream and writes it to the HDD. If the station even provide tags for the stream then every title is saved as separate mp3 file named accordingly. Build a good music collection that way myself.

If you are not worried about using the terminal, streamripper can be used lightweight this way either. man streamripper will help with the options.

for recording (through line-in) with additional editing, Audacity is a good choice as well. It doesnt stream the record to the HDD so you would have to save the records manually.

Cheers…