11.2 Live CD username & password

Hello,
I just built a new box and partitioned the HD to add openSuse after I loaded Win 7. Not being too sure that it will work with my Gigabyte GA790FXTA-UD5 mother board I thought I would give the Live CD a shot first. When it trys to load it sticks prior to init5 and asks for a user name & password. This has never occurred before when using the CD. I am not very experienced with openSuse am I missing something or is it just not compatible with my system? Thanks for any replies.

Sounds like a video problem what is the video card?

Here is a work around that should work

Note for the CD there may not be a password

type int 3
just to be sure we are not hung some where in level 5

type sax2 -r 0=vesa

that should make the video driver the generic vesa driver that should work with all cards

now type
init 5
this should start the Xserver and desktop
Note this is not persistent and will need to be done each time you run the CD

If this all works then it is not hard to make the system work with that mother board. Just takes a little fiddling :wink:

The openSUSE Linux live CD has the user “linux” and password is < enter >

It also has the user “root” and the password is < enter>

Thanks for the replies, I went with a XFX Radeon HD5850 vid card since that will give my system the best performance overall for the gaming I do. I will try the suggestions tonight when I get home. I am hoping I can get the ATI drivers to work when I do install. Thanks again.

Reference graphical drivers, here is some practical theory: openSUSE Graphic Card Practical Theory Guide for Users - openSUSE Forums