Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Installing draftsight on Leap 42.1

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    England
    Posts
    46

    Default Installing draftsight on Leap 42.1

    SolidWorks/Dassault Systemes produce a good 2D design application called DraftSight which is available as a zero-cost download for Linux.
    There are two versions one rpm for Fedora and one deb for Ubuntu. The rpm can be made to work on Leap.

    Download the rpm file from the Dassault Systemes website. (Google solidworks and select "free tools" from products)
    Let us call the file downloaded draftSight.rpm.

    Make sure that you have the packman community repository in you repository selections. Use Yast to add it to your repositories, select it from the community repositories.
    Install libaudio2 from packman repository.
    Install libGLU1 from openSuse main repository (OSS)
    Install rpmrebuild from openSuse main repository (OSS)

    Edit the draftSight.rpm file:
    >rpmrebuild -ep draftSight.rpm

    This will bring up a "vi" based edit window.
    Change "Requires: libaudio.so.2" to "Requires: libaudio2"
    Change "Requires: libGLU.so.1" to "Requires: libGLU1"
    Save the file and exit - this uses the 'ZZ' command.
    You will be asked "Do you want to continue? (y/N)" respond with "y".
    You will then see many warnings which you can ignore and then a long pause (shorter if you have a very fast system) - be patient.
    the result will be in:
    ~/rpmbuild/RPMS/x86_64/draftsight-2015.3.0.3020-1.x86_64.rpm
    or some such <filename> depending on the version that you downloaded.
    Install this rpm with:
    su -c "yum localinstall <filename>"

    This worked for me.
    Your comments will help and may improve other users chances of a good load.

    Hope this helps.

  2. #2

    Default Re: Installing draftsight on Leap 42.1

    Quote Originally Posted by pblewis View Post
    SolidWorks/Dassault Systemes produce a good 2D design application called DraftSight which is available as a zero-cost download for Linux.
    There are two versions one rpm for Fedora and one deb for Ubuntu. The rpm can be made to work on Leap.

    Download the rpm file from the Dassault Systemes website. (Google solidworks and select "free tools" from products)
    Let us call the file downloaded draftSight.rpm.

    Make sure that you have the packman community repository in you repository selections. Use Yast to add it to your repositories, select it from the community repositories.
    Install libaudio2 from packman repository.
    Install libGLU1 from openSuse main repository (OSS)
    Install rpmrebuild from openSuse main repository (OSS)

    Edit the draftSight.rpm file:
    >rpmrebuild -ep draftSight.rpm

    This will bring up a "vi" based edit window.
    Change "Requires: libaudio.so.2" to "Requires: libaudio2"
    Change "Requires: libGLU.so.1" to "Requires: libGLU1"
    Save the file and exit - this uses the 'ZZ' command.
    You will be asked "Do you want to continue? (y/N)" respond with "y".
    You will then see many warnings which you can ignore and then a long pause (shorter if you have a very fast system) - be patient.
    the result will be in:
    ~/rpmbuild/RPMS/x86_64/draftsight-2015.3.0.3020-1.x86_64.rpm
    or some such <filename> depending on the version that you downloaded.
    Install this rpm with:
    su -c "yum localinstall <filename>"

    This worked for me.
    Your comments will help and may improve other users chances of a good load.

    Hope this helps.
    Hi,
    Nice tip, hope a moderator will be kind to put this in the tips and tricks section or how to forums.

    I only have one question. I use draftsight before in previous versions of openSUSE.
    It is a good free cad application, but I find it to slow and have mouse problems dealing
    with complex 2d drawings. I wonder if in openSUSE Leap 42.1 if it has improved.

    Thanks.
    People who do not break things first will never learn to create anything

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    21,926

    Default Re: Installing draftsight on Leap 42.1

    Will be moved to Unreviewed Howto and FAQs.

    CLOSED for the moment.
    Henk van Velden

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    21,926

    Default Re: Installing draftsight on Leap 42.1

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    Will be moved to Unreviewed Howto and FAQs.

    CLOSED for the moment.
    Moved from Applications and open again.
    Henk van Velden

  5. #5

    Default Re: Installing draftsight on Leap 42.1

    Quote Originally Posted by conram View Post
    ...I only have one question. I ...have mouse problems dealing
    with complex 2d drawings. I wonder if in openSUSE Leap 42.1 if it has improved.
    Thanks.
    Yes, I have managed to follow instructions, no problem (thank you! pblewis), but have the same mouse problem as conram (mine is also 13.2 rather than 42.1) so I would love to know the answer to this question as well - is mouse action OK in 42.1?

    I would

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Bari (Italy)
    Posts
    54

    Default Re: Installing draftsight on Leap 42.1

    Draftsight gives me serious issues with the mouse pointer on Leap (it moves itself). It worked well on opensuse 13.2 instead.

    As an alternative i'm running Qcad free.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Installing draftsight on Leap 42.1

    Yes, quick search on interweb confirms the problems with mouse on (mostly) Linux versin.
    It seems to be applicable to x64.
    The old (x32) version appears to have been fine (it may explain why yours was working on 13.2 ??).

    However much I'd like to have alternative to Autocad on Linux, DraftSight in it's present condition is not a working proposition .
    btw - I am running DraftSight on Win7 and AutoCad on XP. Qcad free might be OK for what you need, but it is not an alternative to AutoCad.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Bari (Italy)
    Posts
    54

    Default Re: Installing draftsight on Leap 42.1

    I think i was running the x64 version on 13.2.
    Btw i agree with you, qcad is fine for my home needs but not a real alternative to Windows autocad.

  9. #9

    Default Re: Installing draftsight on Leap 42.1

    I've used Draftsight on various linux and windows boxes and the issue with the mouse pointer lag is common on linux machines.
    To improve the pointer speed disable Vertical Sync (or Wait for Vertical Refresh) in the graphics driver.
    It seems that AMD cards have a very hard time with this, Nvidia not so much.

    Draftsight is great when it works! It is truly a viable alternative to AutoCAD LT.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    2,736

    Default Re: Installing draftsight on Leap 42.1

    Quote Originally Posted by ezio84 View Post
    a real alternative to Windows autocad.
    That would be BricsCAD, but you have to pay for it, although much less than you'd pay for AutoCAD.

    I've been using it professionally since version 10 (it's on 16 now). It improved markedly, and is a real alternative.

    For 2D only there's the classic version, for 2D/3D the Pro version. I'm running the Platinum version, that deals with 2D, 3D, sheet metal, 2D and 3D constraints, DB, BIM, PDF import/export and a lot of other features. The only thing it doesn't have OOTB is foreign 3D model import/export (CATIA, STEP, IGES, etc.), that require the communicator plugin. And that one costs more than BricsCAD itself last time I checked.

    In the last decade I tried all available CAD options, and still do occasionally. The best and professionally very usable one in linux is BricsCAD, hands down. The last time I had to use AutoCAD was in 2011 IINM.

    Also, their current licensing scheme allows each license to be installed and used (concurrently if you wish) in two machines. Internet validation is required for registering only, after that you can use the software offline if you wish. With version 15, only for fun, I tried installing the windows version in a VM with my license and it worked (I uninstalled after testing, of course). What's not to like?

    Disclaimer: I'm not affiliated with BricSYS in any way, but I really value their product and support. I talk as much as possible about it as their linux user base is very small, and my feeling is that it's not growing, unfortunately.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •