Bootsplash vanishes after some time

I am new to Linux and just upgraded to openSuSE 12.2 from 12.1. The boot-splash used to tear up just before the list of users appeared. I installed ATI fglrx using 1-click install. However, something went wrong and Gnome started in fallback mode. I uninstalled the driver from YAST. However, now the bootsplash vanishes after showing for some time. All else works as usual. How can I fix this?

I am running openSuse 12.2 on a Compag 621 Laptop with an ATI Radeon 530v graphics card. the computer is configured to dual boot SUse and Windows 7.
I also found this in dmesg if it might be of any use:
“fb: conflicting fb hw usage radeondrmfb vs VESA VGA - removing generic driver”

Thanks, in advance.

Have a look here as to the boot up resolution settings and Plymouth.

GNU Grub2 Command Help/Config Editor - Version: 1.91 Edit Blog Entry: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/gnu-grub2-command-listing-helper-help-input-106/

Thank You,

:slight_smile: Thanks for replying.

I am using grub and had no problems with it until after I installed and then uninstalled ATI-fglrx driver.

The boot animation starts with the right resolution and all, but after about 5 seconds or so, the screen turns black and I am presented with the login list of users, with perfect graphics and all.
I read somewhere that this might be due to the boot animation being disrupted to show some error message ( but in my case the screen is completely black, no text, no blinking cursor).
Can this be due to the ATI driver making changes to configuration files?

Thanks, again.