Reading HFS+ on 11.4?

Hi,
I just decided to learn how to use opensuse(total newbie), I installed 11.4 on my macbook along with os x. At first I used to be able to read the two HFS+ partitions on the laptop after entering the password. But after looking up how to configure the system on the macbook(sound, grahpics…etc) I dunno if I messed up something or what, now I get this error whenever I try to mount the HFS+ partitions( I am still asked for authorization though):

An error occurred while accessing ‘Data’, the system responded: org.freedesktop.UDisks.Error.Failed:Requested filesystem type is neither wll-known nor in /proc/filesystems nor in /etc/filesystems

Anyone can help?

What about adding a line like :

hfs

in the /etc/filesystems file ?

Or what about a install of the package hfs-utils

I guess that simply adding that line does not install the software to support it. @Benmh’s advice looks much beter to me. And you better do not change such system files like /etc/filesystems without having a very good reason and much understanding.

Actually, HFS is is there already in the filesystem I checked it the second I got the error. At the beginning when I installed the OS, it used to read HFS(+) by default. Though now I dunno what I did to screw things up, that’s why I thought that it might be better to fix what I ruined instead of trying to install something new

It is a bit difficult for innocent people like us to find out what you did if you do not know yourself.

Always take notes when you are changing the system.

sorry, I am new to this, I just assumed that there would be a magic way to check :D. I installed hfsutils, I still get the same kind of error.

Linux has read only support for journaled hfs+. Some people were able to mount hfs+ partitions read/write after disabling journaling under Mac OSX. You’ll find posts about this topic in the forum. I never tried. To mount hfs+ from Linux on my iMac, I use the following line in /etc/fstab: