Looking for a specific widget for my KDE netbook.

Hello all. I am a linux newbie. I started using openSuse when 11.4 was released and before that I was using Kubuntu since august or september.

When I had kubuntu 10.10 on my netbook, I was using that option that made my gui optimized for netbooks and that’s what im currently using with my opensuse. Kubuntu had a widget, though, that would sit on the horisontal panel on the top of the screen, and it would represent the menu bar of the program that had focus. The menu bar of the program actually became a drop down menu on my panel. I dont have the live image of kubuntu any more and its quite a hassle for me to redownload it and I couldnt find anything specific about that widget on the internet.

Could someone tell me where can I find it or at least how can I search for it in an effective way?

Thank-you in advance
Dimitris.

me thinks it is called the plasma-widget-menubar (A Plasma widget to display menubar of application windows), as best as recall it requires QT 4.8 (or a patched QT 4.7) see [opensuse-kde] plasma-widget-menubar and patched Qt for openSUSE?](http://lists.suse.com/opensuse-kde/2010-12/msg00028.html). Also, I think it’s suppsed to eventually get into KDE but in the mean time maybe only available in Kubuntu

update: having said the above there appears to be a version for 11.3 in the build service https://build.opensuse.org/package/show?package=kde4-plasma-widget-menubar&project=home%3Amalcolmlewis%3AMiscellanous

so I dl’ed the src.rpm and rebuilt and installed it with no errors. But it did not work (at least for me), it appeared in the widget bar and the icon looked fine but it did nothing when installed

wow thank you a lot. I didnt know a widget can be OS-specific. I thought that all kde widgets were globally able to be run by the same version of kde or something…