how to use ktorrent to download something?

i am new to linux, i have installed opensuse 11.3 can anyone please tell me how to configure ktorrent so that it can download things???

A Quick Bittorrent Guide (with screenshots)

i have done as u told in the screenshots but still not working.

Have opened the firewall ports and port forwarded your router?

i dont know what u want to say? and how to do that.
the router/dsl modem i am using is listed here

Router Screenshots for the ZTE ZXDSL-831CII- PortForward.com

what and how to do??

PortForward has instructions there for just about every router under the sun.

If you don’t understand this and can’t follow instructions. I can’t really help

You could disable the router firewall, but it’s not my recommendation and you still need to open the ports in the SUSE firewall

The setting this showing for my router i have same settings but stiil ktorrent not working.

ktorrent works fine

But unless you have the settings right, you ain’t going to have any joy. You need to be double checking everything. I guarantee you have not set this up correctly.

I hope this comment is not contraproductive, but I never had to adapt ports to be able to use KTorrent properly (yes, I have a firewall running).

The problem in this thread is that SalmanQamar does not describe the exact symptoms. “not working” can mean anything.

You do have to open the ports in the firewall and your router

No You don’t. Opening ports lets You accept incoming bit torrent connections and will most likely speed up Your upload and download speeds but it’s not mandatory and You still can download without port forwarding.

Best regards,
Greg

Thanks to **gropiuskalle **and caf4926.
Problem solved so please close/lock this thread.