cannot find Linux-kernel-headers 2.6.31.5-0.1-default

I’m new to opensuse (11.2 just installed from a download dvd).
Can someone please tell me in which repository I can find
linux-kernel-headers 2.6.31.5-0.1-default

when I run Yast i only get Linux-kernel-headers 2.6.31-3.4 which is incompatible with my running kernel 2.6.31.5-0.1

thanks for any help :slight_smile:
greetings from Saigon

They’re the right headers, install them - only the major version matters.

I have tried that sir, but vmware keeps on coming back with that it needs 2.6.31.-01 headers, i even recompiled my kernel and reboot the system…
Its a pity i still need vmware because of plc programming software what i cant get running under wine…

Recompiled your kernel? No no, that would definitely break things.

First, remove your recompiled kernel and install the SuSE defaults and kernel-source + linux-kernel-headers.

Then tell me what VMWare you are trying to install?

You may need the kernel-devel package that matches your kernel flavour

:slight_smile: I simply use need to use vmware player2.52, here in Vietnam we can’t afford expensive software as our average income is only 100usd / month :slight_smile:
PLC programming software mostly uses special assembly written drivers (at least what i use does) and that is not working with wine, crashes all the time. so vmware player is a simple solution what works well.

My previous distro was kubuntu 9.10 but it gave too many issues, so i thought ,lets try opensuse with kde too . I’m self a bit surprised about all the differences between the 2 distro’s, both kde 4 :slight_smile: but I’m happy to have Opensuse working.

By the way ,the recompiling of the kernel was no issue, no broken packages

I wondered a bit why gcc is not standard installed… but those kind of things are easy solved…