XServer won't start

Hello,

I’m quite new to Linux, so please be patient with me. :slight_smile:
Today I’ve updated from SUSE 11.0 to 11.1 and now I can’t use the graphic interface unless I login in Failsafe mode. I’ve had this problem already once before, after I installed a driver for my ATI Radeon HD 3600, but then I didn’t have the time to really deal with it so I simply reinstalled the whole openSUSE. After that, in was working again.
But now I’d like to know what I’ve done wrong and how I can fix this so it won’t happen a 3rd time. :wink:
So, when I logged in as root in the console and typed “startx”, everything was normal at first, but then this came:

(EE) Failed to load module “type1” (module does not exist, 0)
(WW) Module ABI major version (0) doesn’t match the server’s version (1)
dlopen /usr/lib/xorg/modules//drivers/fglrx_drv_so: undefined symbol: miZeroLineScreenIndex
(EE) Failed to load /usr/lib/xorg/modules//drivers/fglrx_drv_so
(EE) Failed to load module “fglrx” (loader failed, 7)
(EE) No drivers available

I understand it has something to do with a driver, probably the one I installed for my ATI grafic card. But I don’t really understand what I have to do to get the Xserver working again.
So, I’d be really grateful for some help (in words a non-expert can understand, please) :slight_smile:

Login as user at the console then become su and do

sax2 -r -m 0=vesa

(that’s a zero=vesa)

then do

startx

This will give you a basic vesa driver. But that’s the same as Failsafe is giving you. So you could just login from failsafe and look at installing the ATI driver again
ATI - openSUSE

Ok, the 1st one worked. I’ll try installing the latest ATI drivers too, though, but only after reading some more information on them. :slight_smile:
Thank you very much!

Hey,