Suse 11.1 + Epson R200 = Slow Printing

Hi!

Sorry for my english first. I have a problem with Epson R200 in my system. If it prints any kind of graphics (even in OO Writer or in testpage) in prints slow and waits up to 1 second between easch head move. On testpage it only prints slow the part with color wheel and radial lines and Imageble area section. I found that lspci shows only 2 EHCI ports on my ASUS P5K PRO. May be this is the problem…
I am using CUPS 1.3.9 and SUSE 11.1 with KDE4.

can we ask which printer driver you have installed; to run your R200 please;

Sure! Yast tells that it uses “Epson Stylus Photo R200 - CUPS+Gutenprint v5.0.2”. If you need to know more - tell me, where can I get it. I am not experienced user, it`s my second month under linux :slight_smile:

if you look at this page,

OpenPrinting database - All Epson Printers

you can see that OpenPrinting, the best source of advice, says your printer is partially supported; newer iterations of the R200, eg the R280 are more fully supported;

Epson do offer drivers of their own for linux; I can only suggest you try their driver as a comparison, and perhaps let us know how it compares to gutenprint;

Download Inkjet Printer [AVASYS CORPORATION]](http://www.avasys.jp/lx-bin2/linux_e/ink/DL1.do)

if you select your printer, and download the file: you can see it asks you to specify your distro of linux; so presumably it will offer you an rpm file; if you download that, and right click on it, and select install with software manager, that should open YaST: you enter your substitute user, su, (also called root) password;

you may then need to go into CUPS:

open your browser: Firefox, and copy and paste this line

http://localhost:631/

and that should open cups for you; it is a local entry, so do not worry that you are using a browser; you can then configure the Epson printer driver, if you choose to install it;

best wishes, let us know what you opt for;

the above options are free, as in beer;