How to configure wireless network?

Hello,

I am new to Linux. I would like to configure wireless network in Opensuse 11 which i just installed.

I need some pointers on how to setup wireless network.

Network is working fine in my windows xp machine which very easy to set up.

I came across iwconfig, is there any gui tools for making the configuration easy?

Thanks.
Sundar

You need to install the drivers and configure the network interface in Yast. The form of drivers depends on which card you’ve got. What is it?

Also return here please the response you get to these two console commands:

sudo /sbin/lspci | grep thernet
sudo /sbin/lspci -n

While you’re gathering that information, have a read of this tutorial too to get some further ideas:
Madwifi or Ndiswrapper Wireless Network Drivers - Suse/openSUSE 10, 11 - LAN & Internet access

linux-nzxx:/etc/wpa_supplicant # sudo /sbin/lspci | grep thernet
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller (rev 01)
linux-nzxx:/etc/wpa_supplicant # sudo /sbin/lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 03)
00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 03)
00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 03)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 03)