Virtualbox Guest Additions in openSuse 11

I am very new to openSuse and I am trying to get it running in VirtualBox with a Windows Vista host (bleh). Well, I installed it and everything seemed to go smooth. However, when I tried to install the Guest Additions I get the following message:

linux-u8j8:/media/VBOXADDITIONS_1.5.4_27034 # sh VBoxLinuxAdditions.run
Verifying archive integrity… All good.
Uncompressing VirtualBox 1.5.4 Guest Additions for Linux installation…
VirtualBox 1.5.4 Guest Additions installation
Building a test kernel module failed. See the log file /var/log/vboxadd-install.log
for more details.
Problems were found which would prevent the Guest Additions from installing.
Please correct these problems and try again.

At first I was getting an error saying that I didn’t have make and some other packages installed so I followed the guide at this website (Installing VirtualBox guest additions in OpenSuse « James Selvakumar’s Blog) and it got past that error but now I get the one mentioned above. What should I do?

Building a test kernel module failed. See the log file /var/log/vboxadd-install.log for more details.

From that, I am guessing that you do not have the kernel headers installed for the linux you have installed on that virtual machine.
Use yast:
yast—>software—>software management

When the panel containing the search box comes up, enter “kernel-headers” [without the quotes] and click on “search”

If the entry that is found is not selected, the select it and click “accept”

If I read correctly
Suse is the GUEST
Vista is the host

by default with suse I always add at install
make
gcc
gcc-c++
kernel-source
kernel-syms

now try

Thanks for the info. I will give that a try when I get home tomorrow.

Checked both, installed what was missing and it still didn’t work. Thought maybe I needed to reboot but I am still getting the same message. What next?

add this repo for more up to date ver