Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Virtualbox Guest Additions in openSuse 11

JawsThemeSwimming428 NNTP User

Default Virtualbox Guest Additions in openSuse 11

I am very new to openSuse and I am trying to get it running in VirtualBox with a Windows Vista host (bleh). Well, I installed it and everything seemed to go smooth. However, when I tried to install the Guest Additions I get the following message:

linux-u8j8:/media/VBOXADDITIONS_1.5.4_27034 # sh VBoxLinuxAdditions.run
    Verifying archive integrity... All good.
    Uncompressing VirtualBox 1.5.4 Guest Additions for Linux installation.................................................................................................................................................
    VirtualBox 1.5.4 Guest Additions installation
    Building a test kernel module failed. See the log file /var/log/vboxadd-install.log
    for more details.
    Problems were found which would prevent the Guest Additions from installing.
    Please correct these problems and try again.

At first I was getting an error saying that I didn't have make and some other packages installed so I followed the guide at this website (Installing VirtualBox guest additions in OpenSuse James Selvakumar’s Blog) and it got past that error but now I get the one mentioned above. What should I do?

Default Re: Virtualbox Guest Additions in openSuse 11

Building a test kernel module failed. See the log file /var/log/vboxadd-install.log for more details.
    From that, I am guessing that you do not have the kernel headers installed for the linux you have installed on that virtual machine.
    Use yast:
    yast--->software--->software management

When the panel containing the search box comes up, enter "kernel-headers" [without the quotes] and click on "search"

If the entry that is found is not selected, the select it and click "accept"

Blog Entries

If I read correctly
    Suse is the GUEST
    Vista is the host