DVD requires CD install?

I downloaded SuSE 11 from this site yesterday. Let me make it clear that although I am preety comfortable with Windows, I am relatively new to Linux. Now the real question:
When I boot from my DVD drive for installation, my Dell laptop immediately asks me for my CD ROM1 as it says it can’t find any resposatories(spell?). My desktop identifies it correctly and goes forward; no problems here but my laptop ain’t just gonna take it. I even tried to install via the wizard that starts install in Windows and also Safe settings. I made sure that install media is DVD prior at the welcome screen. what may be wrong? btw; laptop has 8x DVD RW (Opitrac model). Any help will be appreciated; thkx in advance. Also, I checked the install media on my desktop: no problems; on my laptop–> plz insert CD 1???

Its hard to understand what u are trying to do.Follow these:
-Burn the dvd iso image with your laptop’s dvd-r
-Burn the dvd again at 4x speed and at DAO mode.
-Burn the iso image in a dvd+r disc
-Set the your laptop to use cd rom as first boot device (from bios)

ok, let me be clear.

DVD burned as DAO, not on my laptop though.
it is a DVDR (don’t quite remember +R or -R) but my laptop is able to read both, so no problem there. As I said i boot from the CD/DVD and thus I get the main installation page (after the Welcome page).
The problem is simple, assume i booted to the install menu. Suppose i click “Check Installation Media”. I also hit F4 to make sure install media is “DVD”. Now what it does on my desktop is that it checks the DVD for any errors, then starts the install wizard; but on my laptop it says, please insert CD-ROM 1. now why is it asking for CD when I have inserted a DVD?

UPDATE:

Let me be more clear:
The Steps I’ve followed:

1. Boot my DELL Inspiron E1505.
  2. Enter BIOS Setup, set my DVD drive to 1st boot.
  3. Insert my SuSE 11.0 DVD and reboot the machine after saving BIOS options.